The Kutchinsky business was established in 1893 when Hirsch Kutchinsky arrived in England after leaving Poland. His son Morris and other members of the family accompanied him. Together they brought years of experience in the jewelry trade. Previously they were jewelers to the court of Ludwig of Bavaria. They set up shop manufacturing jewelry in the East End of London. In 1930 Morris was joined officially by his sons Joseph and Solomon. Joseph who turned 16 gradually worked his way up learning the business. In 1958 they moved from the Commercial Road premises in the East to the Brompton Road in West London’s Knightsbridge. Joseph’s two sons Roger and Paul joined the business after the 1950's and ran the business until it was sold in 1991 to Moussaieff Jewellers Ltd.