Annibale Cusi was born September 18 1863 and founded the Cusi namesake in 1886. He began work as an apprentice prior to founding his namesake but at 23 decided it was time to strike off on his own. He opened his workshop in Via della Flour in the heart of Milan, Italy a few steps from the Duomo and the Teatro alla Scala. The business grew and by 1906 Milan became the place for an International Exhbition which furthered Annibales success. Cusi exhibited his jewels, and won the Grand Prix thanks to the Collier called "Maria Stuarda", a work that required two years of work by the artisans of Bottega Cusi. The piece was handmade in "Platiuralium" a special alloy invented by Cusi composed of platinum, gold, silver and aluminum with unique light characteristics. The "collar" was studded with about 15000 Diamonds, Pearls and rubies. The war certainly effected Cusi's business but soon thereafter the Cusi name prospered again as the Grand Prix meant international name recognition. Rinaldo, Annibales son, took over and began constructing a new palazzo to operate out of. He put together the Cusi location on Via Clerica 1. At the time the Cusi brand was also doing jewelry work for the most important families in the Milanese aristocracy as well as the Italian royal family. Roberto eventually took control of the company and it passed from generation to generation until Giorgio, Roberta, as well as their children Alessia and Alessandro took control.