Child & Child
Walter Child (1840 – 1930) and his younger brother Harold (1848 – 1915) founded their business Child & Child in 1880. They funded their business by an inheritance from their father, a London pawnbroker. They established themselves at 1, Seville Street in Knightsbridge and registered their maker’s mark with Goldsmiths Hall as silver plate workers. In 1891 they moved to 35 Alfred Place West (now Thurloe Street) in South Kensington and began to make jewelry that is synonymous with their name today. They created gem-set jewelry in both traditional and revivalist styles it is their Arts and Crafts enamel and silver pieces for which they became renowned. The partnership between the brothers was dissolved in 1899 and Harold carried on alone at the same address enjoying the patronage of several members of the Royal Family including Queen Victoria, King Edward VII and King George V. Harold passed away in 1915 and the firm closed its doors. Despite operating for only 35 years their enamel jewelry is stilled remembered today.